5/24/16 & 5/25/16 – Colorado Supercell and Large Kansas Tornado   Leave a comment

This next weather system was to bring in multiple days of severe weather to the plains. From the 22nd to the 26 I pursued storms these are the days that I captured that were the most powerful.
May 24 was forecast for storms from Oklahoma to the Nebraska Panhandle. I opted for the northern area since it was closest to where I was. Storm initiation was a little bit farther west than I had anticipated, but was not a problem.
I watched as storms were on the horizon in Colorado. As I got within range of the storms the tail end storm was still maturing but had the atmosphere all to itself. I watched this storm develop and become an impressive supercell. The area roads were dry and a good network going in after the storm intensified I had to scramble and find a better spot to avoid the hail, unfortunately the road network only allowed me to let the storm pass.


supercell


supercell


supercell


supercell


supercell


I ended up catching up to the storm in NE Colorado. The storm had still maintained and was tapping into some richer moisture. I ended up following the storm eastward. With some possible touchdowns witnessed.


May 25 ended up being a powerful tornado. The reason was extreme instability was making its way into central Kansas with a dryline moving into the area. These features along with the moderate upper level winds ended up producing an Isolated large thunderstorm. The storm intensified and developed a large mesocyclone as well as a long tracked tornado that traveled a distance of 26 miles. Here are some of the images I captured of the storm, some of the roads were too muddy to travel on. I’m grateful no persons were injured. These storms are relatively rare but they do occur every year somewhere. The last large tornado of this magnitude in the area was near Bennington, KS in 2013 but was relatively stationary.


tornado
tornado
tornado
tornado
tornado

Posted May 28, 2016 by droobx in Storms

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

